Holydays of Obligation – Epiphany and Ascension

Liturgical calendar 2017With effect from the First Sunday of Advent 2017, two holydays of obligation are being reinstated in England and Wales. This decision was made by the Bishops of England and Wales, and has been confirmed by the Holy See.
The days are:
The Epiphany of the Lord – 6th January (transferred to the adjacent Sunday when it falls on a Saturday or Monday),
and The Ascension of the Lord – Thursday after the Sixth Sunday of Easter.

For more details, see:
Decree on Holydays of Obligation (Catholic Bishops’ Conference of England and Wales )
Vatican Decree on Holydays of Obligation (Congregation of Divine Worship and Discipline of the Sacraments)
Vatican Letter on Holydays

More information may be found on the Liturgy Office website.

This entry was posted in Liturgical Year and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.